Web Sites for Information about Disabilities


Email This Post Email This Post

General Organizations

Educational Resources

Inclusion Resources

Info on Testing

Specific Disabilities

Training Opportunities

Websites that teach optimism

General Organizations:

ARC   http://thearc.org

BEACH Center    http://www.beachcenter.org/

Center on Human Policy   http://thechp.syr.edu

Complete Disability Resource Guide: http://www.medicaresolutions.com/disability-resources.asp .  Website focuses on Medicare.

Dave Hingsburger’s Blog   http://davehingsburger.blogspot.com 

DisabilityInfo.gov is a comprehensive online resource designed to provide people with disabilities with quick and easy access to the information they need. www.disabilityinfo.gov

Disabled Travelers: http://www.disabledtravelers.com/  A resource dedicated to accessible travel information.

National Association of Protection and Advocacy Systems  http://www.napas.org

National Easter Seals Society   http://www.easter-seals.org/

National Organization on Disability   http://www.nod.org

NICHCY  National Information Center for Children and Youth with Disabilities    http://www.nichcy.org

NORD  National Organization for Rare Disorders  http://www.rarediseases.org

Parents helping Parents   http://www.php.com

Patricia Bauer Blog   www.patriciaebauer.com

Special Olympics International   http://www.specialolympics.org

Very Special Arts    http://www.vsarts.org


Educational Resources:

Council for Exceptional Children  http://www.cec.sped.org

Council of Parent Attorneys and Advocates   http://www.copaa.org

ERIC (Educational Clearinghouse on Disabilities and gifted Education) http://www.cec.sped.org

Kinderart (ideas to include kids with disabilities in art class): http://www.kinderart.com/special/

NICHCY:  http://www.nichcy.org

No Child Left Behind information:  http://www.nochildleftbehind.gov

Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) http://www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/osers/osep/index.html

PACER Center: http://www.pacer.org

US Department of Education   http://www.ed.gov

Wrights Law   http://www.wrightslaw.com

 

Inclusion Resources:

 ADA Homepage  http://www.ada.gov

Axis Disability Rights   http://www.normemma.com

Beach Center on Disabilities    http://www.beachcenter.org

Circle of Inclusion   http://www.circleofinclusion.org

Disability is Natural   http://www.disabilityisnatural.com. Read  the article on People First Language and share it with everyone you know – especially those who write reports on your child!

Inclusive Education and Literacy / Iowa University    http://www.uni.edu/inclusion/index.htm

Inclusion Press Homepage   http://www.inclusion.com

Kids Together: http://www.kidstogether.org

Kids Together – Right to Regular Education:   www.kidstogether.org/right-ed.htm

LD Online  www.ldonline.org

Maryland Coalition for Inclusive Education   http://www.mcie.org

NICHCY (National Information Center for Children and Youth with Disabilities)  www.nichcy.org

PACER Center: www.pacer.org

Special Education Teacher Resource List: http://www.guidetoonlineschools.com/library/special-education

TA Communities: http://www.tacommunities.org/ev_en.php TAcommunities.org is one of several forums available as part of OSEP’s Technical Assistance initiative to exchange strategies and ideas that will improve outcomes for children with disabilities.

TASH www.tash.org

The Center on Human Policy  http://thechp.syr.edu/

Universal Design for Learning: CAST  www.cast.org/udl

Very Special Arts    www.vsarts.org Check out their Express Diversity program!

Wrights Law  www.wrightslaw.com

 

Info on Testing:

Association for Test Publishers: http://www.testpublishers.org

Dumont / Willis: http://alpha.fdu.edu/psychology

Educational Testing Resources: http://www.ets.org

Sattler text books: http://www.sattlerpublisher.com/

Riverside Publishing: http://www.riverpub.com

Western Psychological Services: http://www.wpspublish.com

 

Specific Disabilities:

ADD  Attention Deficit Disorder:

CHADD  Children and Adults with ADD  http://www.chadd.org

Angelman Syndrome: Angelman Syndrome Foundation   http://www.angelman.org

Asperger’s: Asperger’s Disorder Homepage   http://www.aspergers.com

Asthma:

Food Allergy Network   http://www.foodallergy.org/

American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology   http://www.aaaai.org

Autism:

Autism Society of America   http://www.autism-society.org

Autism Research Institute   http://www.autism.com/ari/

Neurodiversity   http://www.neurodiversity.com

Talk Autism   http://www.talkautism.com

BiPolar Disorder:

http://www.bpkids.com

Blindness/Vision Impairment:

National Eye Institute   http://www.nei.nih.gov

Brain Injury: Brain Injury Association  http://www.biausa.org

Cerebral Palsy:

United Cerebral Palsy Associations, Inc.   http://www.ucpa.org

Cleft Palette:   Smiles  http://www.cleft.org

Deafness/Hearing Impaired:

National Information Center on Deafness  http://ClercCenter.gallaudet.edu

Diabetes:     American Diabetes Association  http://www.diabetes.org

Dyslexia:     The International Dyslexia Society   http://www.interdys.org

Down Syndrome:

National Down Syndrome Society   http://www.ndss.org/

National Down Syndrome Congress   http://www.ndsccenter.org

Epilepsy:      The Epilepsy Foundation of America   http://www.efa.org

Fragile X Syndrome:      National Fragile X Foundation   http://www.nfxf.org

Health Issues:

Health Finder   http://www.healthfinder.gov

Department of Health and Human Services   http://www.os.dhhs.gov

Hydrocephalus: Hydrocephalus Association  http://www.HydroAssoc.org

Invisible Disabilities:

The Invisible Disabilities Homepage   http://www.shore.net/~dmoisan/invisible_disability.html

Learning Disabilities:

NCLD National Center for Learning Disabilities   http://www.ncld.org

LD online    http://www.ldonline.org

Schwab Learning Center   http://www.schwablearning.org

Mental Illness:

Knowledge Exchange Network   http://www.mentalhealth.org

National Alliance for the Mentally Ill   http://www.nami.org

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry    http://www.aacap.org

Mental Retardation:

AAMR American Association on Mental Retardation  http://www.aamr.org

Nonverbal Learning Disability: NLD Online http://www.nldline.com

Prader-Willi Syndrome: Prader – Willi Syndrome Association      http://www.pwsausa.org

Rett Syndrome: International Rett Syndrome Association   http//:www.rettsyndrome.org/

Sensory Integration: Sensory Integration Resource Center  http://www.sinetwork.org

Speech and Language Delay:

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association   http://www.asha.org

Spina Bifida:

Spina Bifida Association of America   http://www.sbaa.org

Spinal Cord Injury:     Eastern Paralyzed Veterans Association   http://www.unitedspinal.org/

many more links on Spinal Cord Injury can be found at http://www.seriousaccidents.com/legal-articles/The-Spinal-Cord-Injury-Resource-Page.php

Stuttering:      National Center on Stuttering  http://www.stuttering.com

Williams Syndrome:      Williams Syndrome Association   http://www.williams-syndrome.org

 

Training Opportunities:

Maple Leaf center for Training: http://www.mapleleafcenter.com

Partners in Policy Making: http://www.partnersinpolicymaking.com

 

Websites that teach optimism:

www.fishfulthinking.com

www.authentichappiness.org